Matthew Henry John Bartlett

+64 27 211 3455
email me

Wednesday 30 April, 02008


by Matthew Bartlett @ 12:27 pm

Jesus people deflate NZ spy base

Monday 28 April, 02008

Creating memories

by Matthew Bartlett @ 8:26 pm

Good discussion on ANZAC day at the Greens’ blog

Tuesday 15 April, 02008


by Matthew Bartlett @ 8:44 am

Tony Jones vs Hauerwas

Monday 14 April, 02008


by Matthew Bartlett @ 8:44 am

An amusing story about the model of a Lucian Freud painting
NRT says carbon price would cost only 3.7c/kg of milk solids at current prices
Al Gore’s new climate change speech [vid]

Friday 11 April, 02008

Cycle free

by Matthew Bartlett @ 10:03 am

WCC cycle petition [via Rob A]

Thursday 10 April, 02008

Oh yeah

by Matthew Bartlett @ 11:47 am

The best word I’ve learnt today is o‘oo‘o. It’s Samoan, and means “flow past the high-water mark”.

Wednesday 09 April, 02008


by Matthew Bartlett @ 8:39 am

If you txt ‘tap’ to 883, you’ll donate $3 to UNICEF to help them provide clean water for povos.

Tuesday 08 April, 02008

Small carrot

by Matthew Bartlett @ 8:17 am

NRT on the signing (I’m with him)
Transition Towns is very the good business
NTW: Can a scientist believe in the resurrection?

Monday 07 April, 02008


by Matthew Bartlett @ 8:43 am

A possible scheme holding the Narnia series together [via Ben]
Play with TR909s & effect simulators [via RDB]

Saturday 05 April, 02008


by Matthew Bartlett @ 11:30 am

“Free public Wifi”

Friday 04 April, 02008


by Matthew Bartlett @ 1:23 pm

Poneke on Wellington bus reliability

I admit it, TVNZ7 makes me want to watch TV. I am watching the Kingmaker debate at the moment. It’s got a stupid structure — following the results of some bullshit poll or other — but I still feel like I’m getting a good feeling for what the minor parties stand for. Rodney Hyde is more thoughtful than I expected, but in the end doesn’t really have much of interest to say. Peter Dunne is trim milk. Pita Sharples makes me interested in the Maori party’s consultation process. Mr Anderton is completely worth keeping in parliament. Jeanette Fitzsimons is really thoroughly great.

I’m so glad we’ve got MMP. It’s good for politics (in the sense of public deliberation about public goods).

Tuesday 01 April, 02008

Mechanical Turks

by Matthew Bartlett @ 7:46 am

An interesting new form of alienated labour
Some photos of my niece by my brother